A View of Education

Education isn’t a given in every country. It’s a privilege to simply be educated at a school in certain countries. Even more of a privilege to be educated at a school if you’re a young girl or woman. I’ve been reading, I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai and she is incredible. Miss. Yousafzai is dedicated to give girls and women an equal opportunity education. The fact that educating women and girls  in other countries isn’t a necessity saddens my core. This makes me angry as well. Why can’t everyone be educated equally despite the country, culture, environment and outside factors?  Equal education should be a right that cannot be taken away whether you are a young girl, woman, young boy, or man.  In my opinion, if you are getting a formal education, you should consider yourself lucky.

In the United States a high school diploma and a college degree are valued. Parents plop their young children in school as early as possible to begin the formal learning process. Most children in the U.S receive a high school diploma near the age of seventeen or eighteen years and proceed to college, continuing their education. As I experience life and go to school I realize that some students don’t appreciate their education. The significance of receiving an equal (and equal opportunity) education. I am extremely grateful to be a poor college student. Yes, I may have enough cash to eat Ramen Noodles every night for dinner, but I am able to receive formal schooling in a safe, equal, and encouraging environment. As I read Malala’s book, I feel so thankful for every opportunity I’ve been given; knowing that some girls in other countries aren’t as fortunate. When I hear or read about students complaining about a quiz, test, exam, term paper or teacher it boils my blood. I just want to scream at them for being insensitive!

There is a particular girl in my extended friend group that complains about going to college. This young adult girl tweets, talks and blogs about what a waste of money university is for her. There aren’t opportunities. The lectures aren’t worth her time because they’re all full of garbage. I know for a fact that the university she is attending is worth her money, time and focus. It is one of the best universities in our state. It makes the top 30 best colleges and universities (According to u.s news) in the U.S every damn year. I would have to assume that this particular girl isn’t digging the college experience. But if she hates being educated at the university level wouldn’t she quit? My advice to her: Suck it up buttercup or get out of college. If she doesn’t appreciate learning at college, just get out. There’s another potential student that would love to take her seat in each of her classes. Knowledge can give people the power to encourage change. Education is an undervalued privilege in the United States. I feel the privilege of attending class five days a week. I’ll bet other students are grateful to go to school (not just college students). How can you give sympathy to the students complaining about having education and tools to be successful? Complaining about receiving formal schooling is unjustified while girls and children are being killed in other countries to receive an education.

It is my sincere hope that everyone that is fortunate enough to gain education and equal opportunity education realizes just how lucky they are to receive it. Nobody should take the right of education lightly, it’s not a small subject matter.

 

Leave a Reply

