Doctor Who?

The last three years I’ve been contemplating becoming a doctor. I was going into genetics anyway with a BME degree. I have decided that I’m going to do it. I plan on going into med school to become a doctor that specializes in genetics (Geneticist). I’d like to go into research. My current physicians have told me that they will help and support me through my education (regardless of my career choice). Two of my physicians have offered to help prepare me for the MCAT. I do plan on taking them up on that offer in the near future. Yes, I am of the D.O mindset. One of the best osteopathic universities in the U.S is in my back yard, I’d be nuts to apply to a different university for med school. But again, I will apply to other universities…just in case.

Thankfully this is my second semester of college and I’m still getting through my general pre requisites so I haven’t lost time. A year from now I hope to be enrolled in med school. It’s exciting and terrifying at the same time, I’ll be the first person in my family with a doctoral degree in medicine. My family seems to produce English majors and social workers. I’m just anxious, my future life is in the palm of my hand. No pressure.

On the bright side, I’m finally making friends (two) since I began college in August. One of my new friends is in two of my three classes this semester (I don’t know how to spell her name, she’s from South Africa). The second friend is from Egypt, and she’s hilarious. I told my mom that I was making friends and she cheered on the phone.

Words of wisdom to pass onto a young college student? Or words of warning about med school? Anecdotes?

Leave a Reply

