Update

Since being back at college I’ve done the craziest things! I’m trying to catch my breath as I write this entry. I’ve been so steamy and loud…

Within the last few days I joined a gym near my university. It’s my first time that I’ve joined a gym in my entire life and it’s terrifying. Although I walk at least a mile everyday on campus and do iyengar yoga daily, I’m rather inactive in the cold weather months. The inactivity stems from the frigid cold weather (Windchill -10 F at the moment) so I’m less likely to get out and explore outside. And I find myself binge watching Netflix and laying around when I’m not busy with schoolwork. As I write this sounds like a typical American lifestyle…that’s not good. Since most people de-condition while inactive I decided to join a gym until the weather warms up. I have a few health issues so de-conditioning should never be in the cards in my life. No one likes physical therapy five days a week to gain joint and ligament function again.

It seems that so many people join gyms to lose weight for New Year’s Resolutions. I’m not jazzed about New Year Resolutions because I see it as a perfect set up for failure. I believe it’s great thing to have weight loss goals but allow for mistakes to happen along the way. If you happen to fall off the wagon, get back on it. It’s probably easier said than done, but try none the less. Sometimes the gym environment isn’t for everyone to lose weight and to become healthy.

However, my goal isn’t to lose weight but to move my body and to stay active. Sure, if I happen to misplace a few pounds while exercising I won’t mind. I want to stay in shape and increase my physical activity. I was given one body and I need to treat it with kindness and respect so I can safely live in my body. Hopefully the gym will help with that relationship of body, mind and spirit ¬†Also, I’ve discovered that I love to sweat, it makes me feel alive and accomplished. I know it’s weird.

While I workout I’ve come up with a playlist that I put on a continuous loop. I’ve also come to the realization that I love Taylor Swift’s newest album, 1989. Sometimes I’ll listen to audio books. Either way, it seems to get my blood hot and steamy.

Playlist:

1. You are in Love by Taylor Swift

2. Sing by Ed Sheeran

3. Something I Need by OneRepublic

4. If I Lose Myself by OneRepublic

5. Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven

6. Promiscuous by Nelly Furtado

7. Your Song sung by Ellie Goulding

8. Smooth Criminal instrumental by 2 Cellos

And while being back from winter break I stumbled upon a locally owned comic book store near my college campus. It’s amazing. They feature game nights and comic books galore. The two young men that own the store grew up together and attended the same college. The collaborative thought that went into creating the store is apparent, nothing was left unchecked. Yes, the show The Big Bang Theory featuring a comic book store isn’t necessarily incorrect with the stereotypes of different people. The first time I walked into the comic book store one of the owners asked I was lost and needed directions. He was rather excited when I said that I enjoyed comics and “nerd games”. I guess I may make a new friend outside of class this semester.

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed winter break and spent New Year’s Eve with friends playing Apples to Apples and staying up until two in the morning chatting. I hope all of you are having a splendid 2015!

 

Leave a Reply

