Quiet

Since mid March I have been reading a spectacular book. Quite frankly, I think it should be a requirement for everyone to read. But then again, that may take the joy from it. The book that I’ve been reading is written by Susan Cain entitled, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking.
It’s a breakdown of personality, temperment, introversion and extroversion, ambiverts, and different aspects of human nature. This book deals with strengths and so called weaknesses. The author, Susan Cain, cites different studies conducted as she explores introversion and extroversion. In one of the studies the amygdala of the brain was monitored among introverts and extroverts.
Since childhood I’ve known that I’m an introvert by nature but it’s nice to further understand what introversion is scientifically. My way of observing people instead of jumping into a social situation is a normal thing for introverted personalities. While in elementary school a few teachers thought there was something wrong with me because I was “too quiet” they’d say to my parents during conferences. “E, you’re not speaking enough during class. You’re shy and too quiet.” Yes, my fourth grade teacher said that to me at one point that year. No, I spoke enough. I just spent a large portion of time in my head thinking. Developmentally I was ahead of my peers and I was fine socially.
Quiet is a powerful book. The traits you perceive as a weakness may turn to be one of your greater strengths. I realized that being quiet isn’t something to hide or to be uncomfortable with- I’m wired to be quiet and that’s okay. This book has also allowed my view of other people to expand. Understanding people further and how we learn to adapt is eye opening.
If you get the opportunity to read this stimulating book, seize it at once.

“There is no one more courageous than the person who speaks with the courage of his convictions.” ~Susan Cain  Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking

Leave a Reply

