Freestyle Writing Challenge: 2020

Hello!

Mary nominated me for an unexpected writing challenge. I enjoyed this quite a bit, thank you!

Now I have nominated you guys!

The Rules:

1. Open an MS Word / Google docs document.
2. Set a stopwatch or your mobile to 5 minutes or 10 minutes whichever challenge you think you can beat.
3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH A TIMER.
4. Fill the word doc with as many words as you can in the time limit. Once you began writing do not stop even to turn.
5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spellings and grammar with spell check in MS WORD (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write the right spelling and stick to grammar rules)
6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation and CAPITALS. However if you do, it would be best.
7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. Of words =_____’ so that we would have an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
8. Do not forget to copy & paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees (at least 5) and copy & paste these rules with your nominations.

Mary assigned me the topic of “Five Year Plans”

June 4, 2020

Five Years.

June 4, 2015

1:20am EST

The year will be 2020 in five years. Interesting isn’t it that hindsight is twenty-twenty and I’m discussing my five year plan? Ideally I’ll be in a happy long term relationship and living in a cheap but sustainable apartment with goldfish while working in a laboratory. I’ll have my bachelor’s degree in molecular genetics and be in medical school as well. Realistically in five years I’ll probably be attending medical school and still have a job that pays the bills (i.e not in a laboratory) but still have a bachelor’s in molecular genetics. A long term relationship? Chances are low. I don’t have a checklist for a five year bucket list or anything. However, I do want to win the Amazing Race before I get married. I don’t have a plan for five years, I just {think} know where I want to be in five years.  Within the years between now and 2020 I want to feel a positive adrenaline rush in my life. My definition of a nightmare is a stagnant life. Let’s have a shake up here and there.

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” Neale Donald Walsch

Since 2015 began I’ve been saying “yes” more often. It’s astounding what happens when you say yes more in life. Opportunities aren’t terrifying and appear in greater amounts. You meet new people and relish your own life. Your fingertips tingle with anticipation for new things. Possibility grows in a garden when saying yes.

In five years, I’d like to have the confidence to sing karaoke in front of a group of strangers, walk around in a skimpy swimsuit because I’m a woman, and to be able to own my six white curly hairs on the left side of my temple. In five years I want to love almost everything in my life. Right now I know who I want to have in my life five years in the future. My friends and family should be with me in 2020.

What do I want to see in five years in the United States?

  1. Marriage Equality
  2. Wage Gap Closed
  3. Racism further discussed
  4. Better solutions to lower poverty rates

In five years I hope not to be fearful of new experiences.

Word Count: 390

Time: 5 minutes

Your Topic: The Best Person You’ve Ever Met

The Nominees:      

1. Adi- The Happy Lifeaholic

2. Taylor- A Cup of Tay

3. A Wandering Story Teller

4. Cynthia- Catching Days

5. Rocky- Basically Beyond Basic

6. Susie- Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride

P.S Feel free to link your post to this entry, I’d love to read them

7 thoughts on “Freestyle Writing Challenge: 2020

  1. Thanks so much for including me in this writing challenge, but I’m in the middle of a MILLION things at the moment and don’t feel I can split myself into one more piece. I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog and reading your writing. I appreciate your thinking of me and wish you all the best with your writing.

  2. I really liked this! And I totally understand what you mean about the time limit being a stressful restriction haha. Great post!

  3. Your 5 points for what you’d like to see in the US in 5 years are so good! If only lawmakers had such a smart agenda!

Leave a Reply

